Multitasking help: Slicer

Sometimes it’s the little things that make a big difference.

Slicer is a tiny app.  Its sole function is to reduce the active screen window to 50%, 33%, or 66% of the screen height.

Screen Shot 2013-06-07 at 1.34.47 PM

What do I use Slicer for?  When I’m copying data from a figure or excel file into a text writeup.  When I’m browsing the internet and taking notes at the same time.    Reorganizing data folder structures, dragging from one window to another. Anytime I’m multitasking.   Or half-tasking (procrastinating and working at the same).  And when am I not doing one of those two things?

Slicer makes hopping between apps, and working with multiple apps at the same time, so much easier.
Slicer makes hopping between apps, and working with multiple apps at the same time, so much easier.

This blog is really about ways to be a better scientist; efficient use of technology is one of them.  Slicer is one of those apps that I can’t believe I rely on so heavily- was it  so bad to drag and resize manually?  All I can say, working in a post-Slicer environment, where all of my windows fit into one of my designated work zones perfectly, I could never go back to my primitive ways.

Leave a Reply

